Home / Site Selection / Tax Allocation Districts

Tax Allocation Districts (TADs)

Tax allocation districts (TADs) are one of Athens Clarke County’s most valuable economic development tools. Also known as tax increment financing (TIF), tax allocation financing is a redevelopment and financing tool by which governments can provide financial assistance to eligible public and private redevelopment efforts within an officially designated area or TAD. Increases in property tax revenues, which are generated primarily from new investment in the district, are allocated to pay infrastructure costs or certain private development costs within the TAD.

Tax Allocation Districts in Athens-Clarke County

On November 10, 2020, the Mayor & Commission adopted redevelopment plans to establish six tax allocation districts within Athens-Clarke County. Following adoption by the Mayor & Commission, the Georgia Department of Revenue certified the tax allocation increment base for each of the six TADs. The established tax allocation districts are listed below and linked to their redevelopment plan.

To learn more about the TADs in Athens-Clarke County, please reach out to Caitlin Dye at [email protected].

TAD Areas (Interactive Map)

Use map below or link to full-sized interactive map


Caitlin Dye

Caitlin Dye

Business Development & Incentives Coordinator

(706) 972-7811

Tax Allocation District Questions

Do you have any questions about our tax allocation districts or our incentives? If so, please reach out to our Business Development and Incentives Coordinator, Caitlin Dye. We look forward to hearing from you.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.